Your current files will remain intact, but new files will need to be manually synced. The same thing applies in the opposite as well - new photos/videos in Photos won't automatically appears in a special folder in Drive.
It is worth noting that you'll still be able to sync photos to both Photos and Drive - but only with the Google Backup & Sync tool.
Google is removing this integration to avoid confusion. So, get ready for a "simplified" experience going forward. The search engine addressed this feedback and made some changes.
Google Photos is one of the better services Google offers right now - free unlimited backups of photos and videos across all your devices - and one of my favorite tricks for Google Photos was that everything I took wound up in a dedicated Google Drive folder for easy access and organization, but that feature's days look like they're numbered.
While these changes will affect any photos or videos added to either service from July 10, existing media will remain where it is, although its connection to either service will be severed - so modifying or deleting files on one won't affect the other. In short, they confirm changes that were predicted last month following discovery of references to the change in updated APKs - Google Photos and Google Drive will no longer share your photos between them.
To replace it, Google is introducing a new feature on the Google Photos' website called "Upload from Drive", which will let you manually pick photos and video you want to import from your Google Drive account.
Google Drive is a storage service that lets you save various files to the cloud and then access them from your smartphone, tablet, or computer. Items you delete in Photos will not be deleted in Drive and vice versa. Copied items are not linked back to the original service. Any photos that have synced between the services prior to this change will remain in both places, too.
Confused? Like we said, Google is simplifying things a little bit, but it's still certainly not streamlined.