The scene sparked when both the linesperson and umpire couldn't spot Pliskova's ball mark in the clay with the deciding set tied at 5-5.
Karolina Pliskova smashed a hole in the umpire's chair in anger after a contentious line call late in her loss to Maria Sakkari in the second round of the Internazionali BNL d'Italia.
And with no hawkeye technology in place to give a definitive decision, the call stood against Pliskova, who ended up losing her serve and Sakkari went on to win the set, and the match, 7-5. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favor and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.
But the drama didn't end there.
The world number six had a number of run-ins with Mrozinska during the heated encounter and now faces a heavy fine from the WTA.
Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna took to Twitter to defend her, claiming Mrozinska as the "worst she has ever seen" and hoped that she would "never referee" a match involving herself or her sister. She moves into the third round, where she will face the victor of the second-round match between No.11 seed Angelique Kerber of Germany and Romania's Irina-Camelia Begu.